Mabalacat City GAD LLH: Promoting Holistic Child Development through Comprehensive Early Childhood Care Program

The City of Mabalacat, Pampanga was one of the seven (7) LGUs recognized by the PCW in March 2019 for its notable efforts and sustained implementation of Early Childhood Care and Development Program. It ensures the well-being of children by supporting their advancement in health, nutrition, education, protection, and social welfare.

Early Childhood Care and Development Program

The City Government of Mabalacat established the Early Childhood Care and Development Office (ECCDO) under the Office of the Mayor through Executive Order No. 44 series of 2019 or Creating the ECCD Office.The ECCDO ensures the institutionalization and sustainability of programs and services for Early Childhood Care and Development (ECCD) such as health and nutrition services, child development service, learning development interventions for child development workers, and family involvement and community linkages. The ECCD Program is provided with sufficient budgetary appropriation that funds its operation. In 2020, with the issuance of City Ordinance No. 15, the ECCD Office shall have its own separate program source from the CSWDO to be used as Maintenance and Other Operating Expenses (MOOE) Capital Outlay and Personal Services.

Prior to designing the appropriate curriculum for children enrolled in the ECCD Program, the ECCDO, in collaboration with barangay officers and other service providers, conducts community mapping and assessment process which comes in three modes: house to house assessment, center-based assessment (observing full health protocol), and online assessment. In crafting and implementing the ECCD teaching manual and curriculum, the child development workers follow the principles enshrined in the National Early Learning Curriculum (NELC), which was localized in order to provide quality and gender-sensitive services and facilities for age-appropriate development of young children. As such, the ECCDO ensures that the learning environment are gender responsive by providing gender-neutral comfort rooms, service uniforms are based on the comfort for play and activities of the children. The shirts and jogging pants are for both boys and girls with no specific color assignments. Meanwhile, Water Sanitation and Hygiene, and Gender Sensitivity topics are also included in designing the curriculum to be culture sensitive for Aeta children of Mabalacat City

Since 2019, 4,058 male and 4,443 female children-beneficiaries have availed and completed the Child Development Services. The program also resulted in the conversion of the existing 24 day care centers/facilities into Child Development Centers (CDCs) and the renovation of 10 CDCs. These CDCs adopted gender sensitive approaches in employing games and activities for the children. To ensure this, structured games and activities are not set to match boys versus girls which typically highlight domination of sexes. During free play, all children are encouraged to use toys and materials available in the center regardless of their sex.

In view of the continuous efforts of the City Government for quality services in ECCD, Mabalacat City received the Gawad sa Paglilingkod sa Sambayanan (GAPAS) from the Department of Social Welfare and Development. The ECCDO will continue to strengthen its services and innovate new strategies in order not to interrupt its efforts even during the pandemic.

The ECCD efforts of Mabalacat City not only supports the holistic development of children but also influences the formation of their characters that is free from the constraints of gender stereotypes and discrimination. Thus, it contributes to the attainment of the GEWE Plan Strategic Goal to Transformed Social Norms and Culture Promote GEWE.

GAD LLH Coordinator:
City ECCD Officer Charlo G. Costales
C Santos Avenue, Clark Special Economic Zone, Angeles City, Pampanga
Mobile Number: 0917-8070250 09175100256

GAD Local Learning Hubs: 

Abra de Ilog (Likha Iraya)
Aklan (ACCW and MOVE-Aklan Chapter)
Baybay City (BMIS and WEE Program)
Davao City (IGDD, OSC-VAW, CMC, and Ray of Hope Village)
Iloilo (Convergence for Women’s Economic Empowerment Program)
Mabalacat City (Early Childhood Care and Development Program)
Misamis Occidental (PGADO)
Naga (Bantay Familia, GROW Negosyo Program, and Breast Feeding Program)
Palawan (LWC)
Pangasinan (PCIC)
Quezon City (QCPC and Social Hygiene and Sundown Clinics)
Quezon Province (PGADO, LKB Program, and 2-in-1 Program)