President signs the Magna Carta of Women

President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo signs the Magna Carta of Women in Malacañang on August 14, 2009. The President is flanked by Speaker Prospero Nograles (right) and Senator Juan Miguel Zubiri. Witnessing the signing (seated from left) are PATAMABA President Olive Parilla, former Senator Leticia Ramos-Shahani and Justice Leonor Ines Luciano. NCRFW Chairperson Myrna T. Yao (standing sixth from right) and other legislators including (standing from left to right) former Representative Josefina Joson, Rep. Carmencita Reyes, Rep. Herminia Roman, Rep. Zenaida Angping, Rep. Lorna Silverio, Rep. Ma. Isabelle Climaco, Majority Leader Arthur Defensor, Rep. Juan Edgardo Angara, Deputy Speaker Amelita Villarosa, Rep. Eduardo Zialcita, Rep. Jose Solis, Rep. Nanette Castelo-Daza, Deputy Speaker Raul del Mar and Rep. Jose Aquino also witness the signing of the landmark law, which is the national framework for the country’s implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (UN CEDAW).