Gender Justice Awards II

Taking off from the Gender Justice Awards instituted by the National Commission on the Role of Filipino Women (NCRFW), the University of the Philippines-Center for Women’s Studies Foundation Inc. (UPCWSFI) and the United Nations Development Fund (UNDP) in 2003, the “Gender Justice Awards II” aims to highlight the important role that the judiciary plays in addressing violence against women (VAW).

The Gender Justice Awards II hopes to raise the level of awareness of judges in the Philippines on the need to render gender sensitive decisions regarding VAW cases. The awards will recognize four (4) Gender Sensitive Judges from the NCR, Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. Two special awards will also be given for the Most Outstanding Gender Sensitive Judge and the Gender Sensitive Judge from the Shar’ia Courts.

This search has been launched simultaneously with the Search for Outstanding VAW Responsive-LGUs on November 25, 2008. This award is geared to complement the theme for this year’s celebration of the 18-day Campaign, “CEDAW ng Bayan: ReMOVE VAW”, which highlights good governance and women’s access to Justice.

Qualifications for Nomination

  1. Judges from Municipal Trial Courts, Metropolitan Courts, Municipal Circuit Courts, Family Courts and Regional Trial Courts as well as Justices from the Sandiganbayan (specifically on sexual harassment cases), whether incumbent or have retired from service provided that, in case of the latter, he/she was incumbent at the time of nomination, who have handled cases involving violence against women (VAW) and have rendered a gender-sensitive decision, during the period January 2004 to December 2008, may be nominated.
  2. The cases under consideration are those cases involving violence against women (VAW), such as rape (which includes marital rape, incestuous rape and statutory rape), domestic violence, physical injuries, acts of lasciviousness, sexual harassment, concubinage, parricide, and psychological and emotional abuse in legal separation and ‘ity of marriage, and other cases involving abuse of and violence inflicted on a woman or a girl-child.
  3. The nominated judge/s must have shown sensitivity to women litigants in the conduct of trial of the case/s under consideration.
  4. The nominated judge/s should: (1) exhibit integrity and moral character as a public servant and private citizen; (2) have neither record of convictions nor any pending charges at the time of the nomination and; (3) practice judicial decorum towards lawyers, litigants, witnesses and the public in general to establish his/her personal integrity.

Mechanics of the Search

  1. The Search will recognize six (6) judges and one (1) Sandiganbayan Justice who have rendered the most gender-sensitive court decisions on Violence against Women (VAW) cases in the last five years (2004-2008). This is broken down as follows:
    • One (1) award for the Most Outstanding Gender Sensitive Judge who has handled a VAW case in a gender sensitive manner and has rendered the most gender sensitive decision.
    • Four (4) area awards for Outstanding Gender Sensitive Judges for the National Capital Region (NCR), Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.
    • One (1) Special Award for the Outstanding Gender Sensitive Judge in the Shar’ia Courts.
    • One (1) Special Award will be given to the Outstanding Gender Sensitive Sandiganbayan JusticeAll nominees and finalists must meet the initial criteria set for the awards.
  2. Any individual, civic group or organization may nominate a judge from the Lower Courts up to the Regional Trial Courts (RTC) for the area or special awards. Nominations should be mailed to the National Commission on the Role of Filipino Women at 1145 J.P. Laurel St., San Miguel, Manila from November 26, 2008 to May 31, 2009.
  3. Nominations should include a duly accomplished form which includes the nominee’s conforme signature, curriculum vitae of the nominee, and a copy of the nominee’s court decision.
  4. Nomination period is from November 26, 2008 to May 31, 2009. This will be followed by a screening period on May to August 2009.
  5. The Awarding Ceremony will be held on November 25, 2009, during the annual celebration of the 18-day Campaign. Winners will be informed by the Search Committee two weeks before the awarding ceremony.

Search Committee

The Search Committee shall be composed of permanent representatives from the National Commission on the Role of Filipino Women (NCRFW), Department of Justice (DOJ), Supreme Court – Committee for Gender Responsiveness in the Judiciary (SC-CGRJ), Supreme Court-Office of the Court Administrator (SC-OCA), Commission on Human Rights (CHR), Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP), University of the Philippines-Center for Women Studies Foundation Inc., (UPCWSFI) and Sentro ng Alternatibong Lingap Panligal (SALIGAN). A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) shall be forged among the member agencies of the Search Committee.

Functions of the Search Committee

  1. Dissemination of information on the Search
  2. Develop the nomination forms and finalize the requirements for nominations
  3. Accept and conduct initial processing of nominations
  4. Develop the criteria and categories of the Search
  5. Select the members of the Board of Judges
  6. Conduct initial screening and short listing of candidates
  7. Determine the value of the prize

Initial Criteria

  1. Gendered understanding of VAW as seen in her/his application of VAW laws to the case
  2. Use of gender-fair language in penning the decision on the case
  3. The judge must not have exhibited any form of gender insensitivity to women litigants
  4. Speedy disposition of cases

For more inquiries, interested parties may contact the Policy Development and Advocacy Division of the National Commission on the Role of Filipino Women (NCRFW) at telephone numbers 735-8918, 735-1654 ext. 109 / 128, email: or visit the NCRFW website at