Executive Order No. 167: Strengthening the Philippine Commission on Women, Further Amending Executive Order No. 208 (S. 1994), as Amended, for the Purpose

WHEREAS, Section 14, Article II of the Constitution declares it a policy of the State to recognize the role of women in nation-building and ensure the fundamental equality before the law of women and men;

WHEREAS, Presidential Decree (PD) No. 633 (s. 1975) created the National Commission on the Role of Filipino Women (NCRFW) to ensure the full integration of women in economic, social and cultural development at national, regional and international levels;

WHEREAS, Executive Order (EO) No. 208 (s. 1994), as amended by EO No. 268 (s. 1995), further defined the composition, powers and functions of the NCRFW;

WHEREAS, Republic Act No. 9710 or the “Magna Carta of Women” (MCW), renamed the NCRFW as the Philippine Commission on Women (PCW), and designated the Commission as the primary policy-making and coordinating body on women and gender equality concerns, as well as the overall monitoring and oversight body to ensure the effective implementation of the MCW;

WHEREAS, considering the expanded role and scope of work of the PCW, there is a need to strengthen the organizational structure of the Commission, including its current composition; and

WHEREAS, Section 17, Article VII of the Constitution provides that the President shall have control of all executive departments, bureaus and offices;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RODRIGO ROA DUTERTE, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution and existing laws, do hereby order:

Section 1. Amendment. Section 1 of EO No. 208, as amended, is hereby further amended to read as follows:

“Section 1. Composition of the Commission. The PCW shall be composed of the following members:

1.1 A Chairperson who shall be appointed by the President and shall serve on a full-time basis with the rank and emoluments of an Undersecretary;
1.2 Heads of the following government agencies who shall sit in the Commission as ex-officio members:
1.2.1 Department of Agriculture;
1.2.2 Department of Budget and Management;
1.2.3 Department of Education;
1.2.4 Department of Foreign Affairs;
1.2.5 Department of Health;
1.2.6 Department of the Interior and Local Government;
1.2.7 Department of Labor and Employment;
1.2.8 Department of Social Welfare and Development;
1.2.9 Department of Trade and Industry; and
1.2.10 National Economic and Development Authority;
1.3 Twelve (12) members from civil society representing the following sectors:
1.3.1 Labor;
1.3.2 Business and Industry;
1.3.3 Science and Health;
1.3.4 Education or Academe;
1.3.5 Urban Poor;
1.3.6 Indigenous Peoples;
1.3.7 Farmers and Fisherfolks;
1.3.8 Senior Citizens;
1.3.9 Persons with Disabilities;
1.3.10 Media, Culture and the Arts;
1.3.11 Youth; and
1.3.12 One (1) representative of the National Council of Women in the Philippines.

The incumbent members of the Commission, however, shall continue to hold office unless replaced or removed by the President.

The heads of government agencies mentioned are authorized to designate their permanent alternates with a rank not lower than Assistant Secretary to represent them during Commission meetings and other official functions. The ex-officio member shall inform the Commission in writing of such designation.

There is hereby created a PCW Secretariat, which shall be headed by an Executive Director, and assisted by two (2) Deputy Executive Directors, who shall, among other functions, supervise the provision of requisite technical and administrative services to the members of the Commission.”

Section 2. Unaffected Provisions. Except as expressly modified by this Order, all other provisions of EO No. 208, as amended, shall remain in full force and effect.

Section 3. Repeal. All orders, rules, regulations and issuances or parts thereof, which are inconsistent with this Order, are hereby repealed or modified accordingly.

Section 4. Effectivity. This Order shall take effect immediately.

DONE, in the City of Manila, this 6th day of April in the year of Our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-Two.

By the President:

Executive Secretary

Download a copy.